The President of India is the Head of State and supreme commander of defence forces. The president is elected for a term of five years by the members of an electoral college consisting of members of both Houses of Parliament and members of the Legislative Assemblies of the States. The president’s residence is Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi. The first president was Dr Rajendra Prasad when India became a republic in 1950.

President organisations in India
Office of the President, India