The Monarch

The role of head of state in Malaysia is fulfilled by the constitutional monarch, who must act according to the advice of the cabinet. This figure is formally titled Yang di-Pertuan Agong. The monarch is elected for a five-year term from among nine rulers of peninsular Malaysia. The Yang di-Pertuan Agong appoints the prime minister from the Dewan Rakyat (House of Representatives) – and on the advice of the prime minister (Perdana Menteri) – the cabinet, which can be from the Dewan Rakyat or the Dewan Negra (the Senate). The Yang di-Pertuan retains the right to dissolve parliament, doing so on the advice of the prime minister. This figure is also considered to be the “third arm” of parliament, the supreme commander of the armed forces, the leader of Islam within the country, and has the ability to grant pardons.

National Monarchs organisations in Malaysia
Yang di-Pertuan Agong