The head of state of Sri Lanka is the president. The president is also the head of the executive, the head of the government, and the commander in chief of the armed forces. The president is elected by universal suffrage, requiring more than 50% of votes, and holds office for a period of six years. The president has the right to attend, address and send messages to parliament at any time and is also entitled to all the privileges, immunities and powers of a member of parliament other than the right to vote. The Sri Lankan Constitution ascribes a two term limit to the office of the president.

President organisations in Sri Lanka
Office of the President, Sri Lanka