Prime Minister

The prime minister is the head of government and is appointed by the president for a five-year term, renewable once. Executive power lies with the prime minister and his Cabinet, which is appointed from Members of Parliament and is responsible for initiating and deciding on policy. The position of authority stems from the majority support in the House of Representatives. The constitution states that the prime minister shall keep the president fully informed on matters concerning the general conduct of the Government of Trinidad and Tobago, and has the power to appoint and dismiss ministers. The office of the prime minister holds additional responsibility for constitutional matters, national statistics, public holidays, national awards, ecclesiastical affairs and library services.

Prime Minister organisations in Trinidad and Tobago
Office of the Prime Minister