Regional & Local Government

Uganda is divided into 80 districts, across four administrative regions – Northern, Eastern, Central and Western. Each district is further divided into counties, sub-counties, parishes and villages. Elected local government councils are accountable to the people and are made up of persons directly elected; one-third of the councillors is made up of people with disabilities, the youth and women. Parallel with state administration, there are five traditional Bantu kingdoms, namely Toro, Ankole, Busoga, Bunyoro and Buganda, which have remained and maintain some cultural autonomy in their governance.

Regional & Local Government organisations in Uganda
Central Region
Eastern Region
Kampala City Council
Kampala City Council
Kasese District
Local Government Finance Commission
Mbale Municipality
Northern Region
Uganda Local Governments Association
Western Region