Regional & Local Government

Australia is divided into six states – New South Wales, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria and Western Australia. Each state has its own constitution, parliament, head of state (Premier) and judiciary, similar to the federal system. Additionally, there are ten territories aside from the six states, which include two mainland territories (the Northern Territory and the Australian Capital Territory) and one offshore territory, Norfolk Island. Each state and territory is further divided into councils, which make up the local governments.

Regional & Local Government organisations in Australia
Australian Capital Territory
New South Wales
South Australia
Western Australia