Saint Lucia is a constitutional monarchy with Queen Elizabeth II as head of state, represented by a governor-general. The legislature is bicameral. The House of Assembly has 17 directly elected members and a senate of 11 appointed members. Six of the senators are appointed by the prime minister, three by the leader of the opposition and two by the governor-general. The prime minister is the leader of the largest party in the House of Assembly. Parliament is elected for five years by universal adult suffrage.

The Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court was established (as the West Indies Associated States Supreme Court) in 1967 with its headquarters in Castries in Saint Lucia, and is responsible for the administration of justice in its member states including Saint Lucia. It comprises the High Court of Justice and the Court of Appeal.

The High Court has 16 justices, three of whom are permanently resident in the country and sit in the court of summary jurisdiction. Less serious cases are heard in magistrates’ courts. The Court of Appeal is itinerant. The High Court’s jurisdiction includes fundamental rights and freedoms, and constitutional issues.