Bilateral and Multilateral Co-operation

Bilateral and multilateral relationships in the Commonwealth

Formalised relations of Commonwealth countries, including economic, political and cultural, run along bilateral or multilateral lines – ‘bilateral’ referring to ties between two states and ‘multilateral’ referring to relationships of more than two states, often within an intergovernmental organisation such as the UN.

Bilaterally, by virtue of their shared past Commonwealth countries maintain strong ties with one  another, with every one of the 53 member countries having at the least a high commission* in another Commonwealth country. Commonwealth countries have also established lasting partnerships with other countries in their respective regions and beyond, some of which have resulted in embassies, trade treaties and aid.

Multilaterally, such is the extent of the Commonwealth that not only is its membership involvement evident in various closed and issue-based institutions such as the G8, G20, Security Council, OPEC, OECD and BRICS but also in virtually all regional-based institutions worldwide from ASEAN in Asia to CARICOM in the Caribbean. Naturally, extensive Commonwealth member involvement is found in global organisations such as the UN, WTO and IMF.

* High commission defines an embassy of a Commonwealth country in another.

Select a Country:
Antigua and Barbuda Australia Bangladesh
Barbados Belize Botswana
Brunei Darussalam Cameroon Canada
Cyprus Fiji Ghana
Guyana India Jamaica
Kenya Lesotho Malawi
Malaysia Malta Mauritius
Mozambique Namibia Nauru
New Zealand Nigeria Pakistan
Papua New Guinea Rwanda Saint Lucia
Samoa Seychelles Sierra Leone
Singapore South Africa Sri Lanka
St Kitts and Nevis St Vincent and The Grenadines Swaziland
Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Uganda
United Kingdom United Republic of Tanzania Zambia