Geography & Meteorology

The Commonwealth Geographical Bureau and the Conference of Commonwealth Meteorologists are the two key organisations working in the area of earth sciences.

Commonwealth Geographical Bureau (CGB)

c/o Department of Geography, University of Otago, PO Box 56, Dunedin, New Zealand

Tel: +64 3 479 8773 | Fax: +64 3 479 9037 | Email: |

The CGB promotes interaction among geographers in universities and other institutions in Commonwealth countries by providing information about important activities, and supporting the participation of geographers at Commonwealth workshops and meetings. The CGB is particularly interested in providing technical knowledge and technology transfers from more developed Commonwealth countries to geographers and geography departments in the less developed countries of the Commonwealth.

Foundation: 1968

Officers: President: Professor Tony Binns (New Zealand); Honorary Secretary: Professor Elizabeth Thomas-Hope (Jamaica); Honorary Treasurer: Professor Nigel Walford (UK)

Activities: The Bureau sponsors meetings of Commonwealth geographers, especially from developing countries, either in the form of training workshops or academic conferences.


Conference of Commonwealth Meteorologists (CCM)

c/o International Relations, Met Office, FitzRoy Road, Exeter, Devon EX1 3PB, UK

Tel: +44 1392 886 784 | Fax: +44 1392 885 681 | Email: |

The Conference of Commonwealth Meteorologists is both a convening and an informal network of the heads of Commonwealth national meteorological and hydrological services (NMHSs). The CCM, which was first established in 1929, gives directors the opportunity to discuss and resolve issues of mutual concern. The aim of the CCM is to enhance the benefits of meteorology to society through increased co-operation between NMHSs, governments and other organisations including the private sector. Through their expertise in various fields related to weather, water and climate and their capabilities (including round-the-clock operations) CCM members play a significant role in the safety of life and properties and in providing expert information on the science of climate change and its impacts. The CCM was formally accredited as an Associated Organisation of the Commonwealth in September 2005.