Social Work

Commonwealth Organisation for Social Work (COSW)

Representative to Commonwealth Institutions (UK): Terry Bamford

Tel: +44 20 7229 6993 | Email:

COSW is an organisation for citizens of the Commonwealth who are interested in promoting and supporting social work and social development. It contributes a social work perspective to Commonwealth activities. It is supported by social work associations in the Commonwealth and has formal links with the International Federation of Social Workers (IFSW). COSW upholds the code of ethics of IFSW and promotes its professional principles.

Foundation: Established in 1994 at a meeting of social workers from Commonwealth countries during the biennial conference of the IFSW in Colombo, Sri Lanka, COSW was formally accredited in 2007.

Officers: Chairs: Ngoh-Tiong Tan (Singapore), Charles Mbugua (Kenya); Honorary Secretary-General: Monique Auffrey (Canada); Treasurer: Fiona Robertson (New Zealand); Board members: Terry Bamford (UK), Nigel Hall (UK/Zimbabwe), David Jones (UK), K S Ramesh (India), Naomi Spencer (Australia), Daisy Romanus (India), Civil Legodu (South Africa), Ai Hua Teoh (Malaysia)